I understand that only 18 tournaments (19 if qualified for ATP Finals) are considered for ATP rankings of which 4 grand slams and 8 masters (excluding Monte Carlo) are compulsory. If a player fulfills the commitment of 4 ATP 500 (counting Monte Carlo if he plays), his best 6 results from other tournaments are counted.

But currently (16th March 2018), I see 7 tournaments (apart from compulsory tournaments) are counted in Marin Cilic's Rankings. It includes Monte Carlo, 3 ATP 500 and 3 other tournaments. Is it not violating the rule?

His ATP Rankings Breakdown is here. And here is Internet Archive snapshot from March 2018.

I'm not 100% sure, but this could be a case of them using the Monte Carlo Open in place of the Canadian Open, which he pulled out of due to an injury sustained at Wimbledon.

Your Answer

 

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.