-1

In all forms of cricket, the number of bouncers per over is limited. For example, quoting from the current One Day International playing conditions:

41.6.1.5 A fast short-pitched delivery is defined as a ball, which passes or would have passed above the shoulder height of the striker standing upright at the popping crease.

[...]

41.6.1.8 In the event of a bowler bowling more than two fast short-pitched deliveries in an over as defined in clause 41.6.1.5 above, the umpire at the bowler’s end shall call and signal No ball on each occasion.

If the batsman manages to hit a bouncer, when the bowler has already exhausted his quota of bouncers per over, and the ball is caught, will the batsman be out or is it a no ball?

  • I've rewritten this to focus on what I think you were trying to say. If it's now wrong, please edit it further - however, remember that the limit on the number of bouncers is not in the Laws of Cricket, but is in the playing conditions for individual competitions. – Philip Kendall Mar 23 '18 at 9:21
  • Thank for rewriting the question. Can you provide a better answer, what happens when a 3rd bouncer hits and get caught? will it be called as a no ball? – Varun Chandran Mar 29 '18 at 4:45
  • I've rolled back your edit as it changed the question significantly. If you want to ask a separate question about balls above the batsman's head, please do that rather than changing this question. – Philip Kendall Mar 29 '18 at 9:41
  • I don't want to ask any other question, question changed significantly?? i didn't get you?? I just need the same answer will the batsmen be given out or not when he hits the 2 nd bouncer over head . if yes, just provide with a real situation – Varun Chandran Mar 29 '18 at 10:04
  • A batsman cannot be given out caught of a no ball, so what exactly is your question here? – Masked Man Mar 30 '18 at 14:45
0

No, the batsman cannot be out caught. A no ball due to exceeding the number of bouncers per over is still a no ball and Law 21.18 is very clear on this:

When No ball has been called, neither batsman shall be out under any of the Laws except 34 (Hit the ball twice), 37 (Obstructing the field) or 38 (Run out).)

| improve this answer | |
  • I have never seen a situation when a bouncer hit and get caught then called as noball, can you please suggest a match, which i can satify myself?? – Varun Chandran Mar 29 '18 at 4:46
  • Individual decisions are pointless when the law itself is written that way. You're going very backwards on how the game works when it comes to rule decisions. – Nij Mar 29 '18 at 21:26

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.