In the NBA, if PlayerA fouls ShooterA on a shot attempt and PlayerB cleanly blocks the shot (no foul called on PlayerB), does the block count in the stat sheet?

If the answer is no, is there a stat that tracks this?

  • 1
    If a player is fouled while shooting and he misses (blocked) the shot never happened in the world of stats, if he makes it it counts as a field goal attempt and make. Therefore a block cannot happen even with the most advanced stats. There is no way you would give someone credit for blocking a guy that was fouled - not only useless, but unfair, and arbitrary in that some of these blocks could be very very easy - imagine guy getting hammered and throwing up "whatever" from his hip...
    – Coach-D
    Commented Jan 2, 2019 at 16:38

2 Answers 2


From Wikipedia about blocks

...Also, on a shooting foul, a blocked shot cannot be awarded or counted, even if the player who deflected the field goal attempt is different from the player who committed the foul...

If a block is made after a shooting foul is called, it is not credited, nor is it tracked.


Only if it is a shooting foul. If Player B blocks the shot, he is awarded a block.

Some fouls are called in the progress of a play, but are determined to be on the floor (non-shooting foul). In this instance, neither a shot attempt, nor a block is counted. No stats are kept for this block.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.