My 10 year old son is right handed batsman however has a left handed batsman's grip i.e. left hand down and right hand on top on the grip. Is that allowed in international cricket as per ICC rules?


The simple answer to this is "yes, this is allowed". There's nothing in the Laws of the Game which specify how the bat should be held.

  • Yes, this answer should have some references to the Laws. However, lords.org, the definitive site for the Laws, seems to be down right now. I'll update this answer when it's back up.
    – Philip Kendall
    Apr 30 '18 at 19:04
  • Ping - the website seems to be back up.
    – AndyT
    May 11 '18 at 15:42

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.