The Toronto Raptors fired their head coach Dwane Casey on 11 May 2018 after losing to the Cleveland Cavaliers in the second round playoffs of 2017-2018 season. This happened only days after Dwane Casey was voted the NBA coach of the year.

How many times in the NBA history has a head coach been fired on the same year he won the coach of the year award?


2 Answers 2


Following are the Coach of The Year award winners that did not come back to the team the next season:

  • Dwane Casey - Toronto Raptors (17-18)
  • George Karl - Denver Nuggets (12-13)
  • Pat Riley - Los Angeles Lakers (89-90)
  • Dolph Schayes - Philadelphia 76ers(65-66)

Casey, and Schayes were fired by their teams. Pat Riley resigned, it's believe the Lakers were "kind" enough not to embarrass the coach of the year and let him resign. Goerge Karl's contract was up at the end of the season he won the award and the Nuggets did not re-sign him.


This happened to George Karl in 2013; see this Yahoo! Sports article.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.