To map this out, players A and B are on team 1, player C is on team two. Player A bumps the ball over the net to team two's side. Player B reaches underneath the net and (otherwise legally) hits the ball at player C.

Is this a legal play and should player C continue the volley?


1 Answer 1


This is a fault by team 1 and they lose the point; it is covered by rule 13.2.1 of the official FIVB rules:

13.2 Faults of the attack hit

13.2.1 A player hits the ball within the playing space of the opposing team.

For what it's worth, there is nothing beach specific about this - exactly the same rule exists for indoor volleyball (except that it is numbered 13.3.1).

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.