There is a lot of talk about an appeal play for a missed base with or without runners on base. The problem is no one is talking about the what the batter is credited with. In our case with 2 outs and a runner on first, the batter hits what at first is a triple with the runner scoring. The second baseman calls for an appeal as he feels the runner (not the batter) missed second. The umpire agrees and the runner is ruled out, the run taken away from the offensive team. The only question is what is the batter credited with?
(If the situation differs between baseball and softball, please include those differences in any answers)