1

I am confused about what counts as a break in snooker. The official rules have the following paragraph:

  1. Break
    A break is a number of pots in successive strokes made in any one turn by a player during a frame.

As I read it, it seems to me that potting 1 ball during a turn is counted as a break ("a number of pots" - 1 or more). However, commentators from my country are saying that a break is consisting of sequence of potted balls which implies (at least in my language) that at least 2 balls must be potted to say that the player made a break.

Is potting 1 ball enough for the break or it needs more than 1 ball?

2

The definiton of break in the WPBSA rules is odd and has no meaning in practice. The World Snooker Tour definitely counts consecutive points rather than the number of pots.

The following image is from the China Open 2018:

ronnie 147

The Oxford Dictionary and Wikipedia define break correctly.

Oxford Dictionary:

Billiards Snooker
A consecutive series of successful shots, scoring a specified number of points.
‘a break of 83 put him in front for the first time’

Wikipedia:

A break is the number of points scored by a player in one single visit to the table.

Snooker referees count the breaks loudly. Those breaks are officially recorded and most of the tournaments award the player who scored the highest break. Also note that foul points are not included in the breaks.

If we return to the main question, the answer is YES. Even one ball is a break, but indeed it is a one-point break. Let's say R. O'Sullivan potted a red ball in one turn. If he misses the next pot, the referee will say "Ronnie O'Sullivan, one". One is the break here.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.