1

Here's the scenario:

Batter hits pitch, ball looks to drop just outside the fence but a fielder manages to get to the fence quickly and climb on it to attempt a catch, raising his arm to try and get the ball on the glove. Fielder's glove touches the ball but accidentally drops the ball over the fence.

What happens in this case? Is this considered a home run or is this just an automatic double?

1 Answer 1

6

This is a home run.

Rule 5.05(a)(9) says:

Any fair fly ball is deflected by the fielder into the stands ... or over the fence in fair territory, the batter shall be entitled to a home run.

In this video, the ball hits the glove and head of the fielder and goes over the fence.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.