Is it possible to give player of the match award to more than one player, when the stats and performances of more than one player (from the same team) equals the same?

If yes, any history for the above?

6 Answers 6


There are several occasions where man of the match award has been shared by two players

  1. Ravi Bopara and Suresh Raina : http://crickethighlights.com/2011/09/suresh-raina-and-ravi-bopara-joint-men-of-the-match-ind-vs-eng-odi-4th/

  2. Muralitharan and Ashraful : www.espncricinfo.com/ci/content/image/187690.html

  • 1
    I have deleted Atif Maqbool (Karachi Dolphins) and Shahzaib Hasan (Karachi Dolphins) answer as Domestic cricket leagues like IPL,BPL,SLPL BIG BASH etc are not recognized by ICC
    – gout
    Commented Jan 2, 2013 at 4:39

As the question is about sharing the player of the match award between two players from same team, here is the example for that in an international match.

Sunil Gavaskar and Chetan Sharma shared the "Man of the match" award in World Cup 87.
Scorecard of the match.


Yes, it's possible to share the Man of the Match award between two players of the same team.

In a day/night 20-over domestic match between Lahore Eagles vs Karachi Dolphins on 4th December 2012, the man of the match award was given to Atif Maqbool (Karachi Dolphins) and Shahzaib Hasan (Karachi Dolphins). Source


Martin guptill and Tom Latham get joint man of the match award for a record partnership in 2015 in harare in Zimbabwe on 04 Aug 2015 for the runs 236 and winning Newzeland by 10 wicket



This has occurred in the match between Australia and South Africa. On 12 March 2006, Played at New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

HH Gibbs (South Africa) and RT Ponting (Australia) were name the players of the match.

Referred from Espncricinfo.


In January 1999, all the eleven players of the team got player of the match award in a test match between WestIndies and SouthAfrica.

Match Scorecard.

enter image description here

  • @SportsFan Scorecard is here; the match report makes it clear that the award was actually to "the South African team" rather than the 11 players.
    – Philip Kendall
    Commented Dec 8, 2016 at 15:03

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.