-1

I was reffing a boys high school soccer game. Home team player dribbled into the box and before the defender could challenge he got a shot off on net that was saved by the keeper. Half a second after releasing the shot the defender slid in with a tackle and both players ended up on the ground. No-call on the field and play continued.

I am confident in the decision as it is a play I have been a part of (as a player and a ref) hundreds of times. The player got the shot on frame off and the slide tackle in my mind was an attempt to play the ball. It was a harder tackle but not reckless in my view. No call, no PK.

The home team coach made such a stink about it though so I thought I would pose the question here.

  • If this question was framed a little more generally, there could be an answer provided that would highlight the necessary considerations. As it stands, given this was a local-level match, it probably isn't notable enough to generate good answers in its current form. – Reinstate Monica 2331977 Sep 27 '18 at 3:24
  • 4
    I'm voting to close this question as off-topic because it relates a specific officiating decision in a match that was not rare, controversial or notable in some other way. – Reinstate Monica 2331977 Sep 27 '18 at 3:25
2

Since we didn't see that situation it is hard to form a good answer for it.

In general it is simple: if you would call a foul for same scene in the midfield you should call a foul in the box as well. A tackle or challenge does not need to be reckless or excessively forceful for a penalty kick - as with any other tackle or challenge, carelessness is enough.

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct, Section 1 - Direct Free Kick:

A direct free kick is awarded if a player commits any of the following offences against an opponent in a manner considered by the referee to be careless, reckless or using excessive force:

  • kicks or attempts to kick

...

  • tackles or challenges
  • trips or attempts to trip

If an offence involves contact it is penalised by a direct free kick or penalty kick.

Law 14 - The Penalty Kick, Introduction:

A penalty kick is awarded if a player commits a direct free kick offence inside their penalty area or off the field as part of play as outlined in Laws 12 and 13.

If a defender carelessly tackles an opponent (e.g. unfairly making contact with an opponent before the ball), a penalty kick should still be awarded unless the attacking team still has the possibility to score (advantage rule).

  • I disagree with the lack of qualification on the final paragraph sentence. What you've stated may generally be true, but is not always true. A tackle must be at least careless to result in direct free kick or penalty kick. For example, if an attacker and defender, side-by-side, both swing their leg at the ball and both legs collide, with neither touching the ball, this possibly wouldn't be considered a careless tackle by either player. – Reinstate Monica 2331977 Oct 1 '18 at 5:33
  • @studro ofc simple challenges for the ball don't always result in a foul. I was speaking about a (sliding) tackle by the defender. There are always exceptions, even to explicit rules. Mentioning them all would be a very long answer. And I disagree with being careless as a must-have for a foul. A good tackle with bad timing is still a foul. – dly Oct 1 '18 at 7:05
  • Unless it involves holding, a tackle must be at least careless for a foul to occur. See Law 12, Section 1: A direct free kick is awarded if a player commits any of the following offences against an opponent in a manner considered by the referee to be careless, reckless or using excessive force... – Reinstate Monica 2331977 Oct 2 '18 at 5:24
  • I'll have a go at editing in this distinction. Feel free to roll back the edit if you don't think it makes it any clearer. – Reinstate Monica 2331977 Oct 2 '18 at 5:25
  • @studro it's fine. It's probably just matter of the point of view and a bad timed challenge or tackle always considered careless. You know the situation: you go for the ball and miss it and then hit the opponent. Might not look careless but it probably is by the rules. – dly Oct 2 '18 at 6:10

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.