On a free hit, suppose the ball hits the bails and dislodges them, then goes to the wicketkeeper's hands.

If they then remove a stump from the ground while the batsman is out of their crease, is this out or not out?

1 Answer 1


The answer to this is not out. A batsmen can only be out from a free hit from the methods you can be out from a no ball. Law 21 No Ball.

This does not include stumped. Stumped is defined in Law 39 and involves the wicket keeper without the actions of another fielder.

Hence the answer of not out.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.