1

In game 4 of the World Series last night I noticed that in the 4th inning, one of the Dodger batters, the second one I think, hit the catcher in the head with his bat. Is there no penalty for this?

2

Manny Machado's follow-through hit the Red Sox catcher once in the series, and Xander Bogaerts did the same to the Dodgers' catcher. In either case, these were incidental contacts and a simple apology was given to the catcher. No punitive ruling was assessed, and none would be.

When it becomes an issue is if a baserunner goes to steal a base. If in this case, the batter has the same contact, the baserunner is called out due to interference.

In a more extreme case, when the umpire rules there has been malicious contact, the batter is ejected. While I have not seen a batter maliciously hit a catcher with a bat, I have seen on two occasions a batter kick the catcher before charging the mound

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.