Can a player get a 2 and 10 for cross checking?

Or just a 2 or 5/10?0€

  • The question is perfectly clear if one is remotely familiar with penalties in ice hockey. The idiom used is extremely common, and the brevity does not detract from the completeness of the question.
    – Nij
    Commented Oct 30, 2018 at 18:53

1 Answer 1


In this case, you can either get 2, 5, or 5+10. You cannot receive 2+10, 2+5, or 2+5+10.

For physical fouls such as cross checking, the ref can either give a 2 minute minor, or a 5 minute major, or a 5 minute major with an automatic 10 minute game misconduct for injury. In USA hockey rules, the 5+10 is given if the player is injured as a result of the crosscheck.

It is important to note that the 10 minute is a game misconduct, not just misconduct, so the player is automatically ejected for the rest of the game, even after the 10 minutes expire, and suspended for their next game.

Source: https://www.usahockeyrulebook.com/page/show/1084653-rule-609-cross-checking

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.