If a batsman moves in his crease, right or left, does the wide also moves with him? If a right-handed batsman moves to his right and leave the stumps and the bowler bowls a ball which is in the reach of the batsman but outside the wide line, Will this be a wide call or not?

New contributor
khan is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering. Check out our Code of Conduct.
up vote 1 down vote accepted

Basically, yes. If a batsman moves, the ball will based on both their current position and their normal position. Quoting from Law 22 - Wide ball:

22.1.1 If the bowler bowls a ball, not being a No ball, the umpire shall adjudge it a Wide if [...] the ball passes wide of where the striker is standing and which also would have passed wide of the striker standing in a normal guard position.

The effect of this is that a batsmen moving expands the area into which a bowler can bowl rather than "moving" the area.

Your Answer

khan is a new contributor. Be nice, and check out our Code of Conduct.
 

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.