I was just watching a UK Championship game and came across a rare incident. Mark Williams potted the yellow after the last red. The referee should have re-spotted the yellow, but he forgot. Then Williams re-spotted the yellow himself and continued his break.

A commentator on BBC said that it was allowed. I checked the WPBSA rules, the balls don't necessarily need to be re-spotted by the referee, so the commentator is right.

I wonder a slightly different case. If a player re-spots the ball just because of moving quicker than the referee, is it allowed as well? I don't see an explicit rule prohibiting this, but it can prevent a proper game. Maybe such a case has happened before.

  • 2
    I'd expect that a player being quicker will have their spotting checked by a referee, but unless it's obviously wrong, will be accepted. Need to find regulations for the tournaments though. – Nij Dec 3 at 22:52

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.