When my opponent is serving in squash, if I want to return the serve, can I volley this ball back to them? That is, without the ball hitting the floor (opponent serves > front wall > I volley the ball back).

If yes, do I have to stay within my own serving box? How many of my feet have to remain in the box, one or both?

If no, can I cross the T-line in front of my box if I keep one foot in it?

1 Answer 1


Yes, you can volley. A legal serve is defined in Rules of Squash. Defining where the ball must land is:

5.7.4 the ball, unless volleyed by the receiver, bounces for the first time in the opposite quarter-court without touching any line; and [...]

Volleying allows the serve to be legal without landing on the ground.

The service box and quarter-court lines are limits for the server and the serve, not the receiver. I don't see it explicitly mentioned in the rules, but the receiver should be able to stand anywhere that doesn't interfere with the service.

  • This is something I have done before, although I've not stepped over the line to volley very early. It's a very attacking shot. Jun 30, 2021 at 11:45

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.