The ball goes forward to an attacker who is re-entering from an off side position. The attacker gains control, turns and shoots toward goal. Is the play to be diss allowed for an offside pass?
Offside. All what matters is the relative position of ball and receiver (forward) at the time of the pass. The rules do not specify anything about the direction of the pass.
From Law 11 of the FIFA Rules:
Offside position A player is in an offside position if- he is nearer to his opponents’ goal line than both the ball and the second-last opponent. A player is not in an offside position if he is in his own half of the field of play OR he is level with the second-last opponent OR he is level with the last two opponents
If it is a deliberate pass by the defender however, the forward is not offside.