2

If my opponent sinks the black ball by their hand, do I win or carry on playing?

  • This is an interesting question in a way. I am not sure how the rules would be interpreted if the hand accidentally put the 8-ball into the pocket. Reading the answer provided by @dly I would say loss of frame. But, if it was deliberate, then in tournaments I play it would be considered bad sportsmanship which could attract league penalties and definitely loss of frame. There could be allowances made in non-professional tournaments for accident but that would be down to the league rules – Chris Rogers Jul 9 at 13:01
1

You win.

There are different rule sets, but usually they're equal when it comes to illegally pocketing black: The opponent wins that game.

Example:

F. LOSS OF GAME

  1. Pocketing the 8-ball when it is not the legal object ball except on an opening break.

  2. Pocketing the 8-ball on the same stroke as the last of his group of balls.

  3. Jumping or knocking the 8-ball off the table at any time.

  4. Pocketing the 8-ball in a pocket other than the one designated.

  5. Fouling while (pocketing) the 8-ball in the designated pocket.

  6. Third infraction of the slow play rule.

  7. Pocketing the 8-ball and the cue ball on the break stroke. (This varies, if your league considers an 8-ball break a win.)

  8. Not correctly marking the pocket while pocketing the 8-ball.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.