I was watching this NBA Video Rulebook video. In it, 23 White gathers the ball after ending his dribble, establishing his left foot as his pivot foot. He then steps right-left, and the referee calls a traveling violation.
I was then looking at the 2018-2019 NBA rulebook.
Rule 10, Section XIII, point (d), says:
If a player, with the ball in his possession, raises his pivot foot off the floor, he must pass or shoot before his pivot foot returns to the floor
Since 23 White raised his pivot foot off the floor and returned it to the floor while the ball was still in his hands, this would suggest that the referee made the right call.
But Rule 10, Section XIII, point (b), says:
A player who receives the ball while he is progressing or upon completion of a dribble, may take two steps in coming to a stop, passing or shooting the ball.
23 White, upon completion of a dribble, gathered the ball on his left foot, establishing his left foot as his pivot foot. Until now he has made no steps. He then steps with his right foot: Step 1. Afterwards he steps with his left foot: Step 2. So it looks like 23 White is complying with this rule.
- Is Section XIII, point (b), allowing something that point (d) of the same section does not allow? What am I missing here?
I am confused because Section XIII, point d, is the same exact rule that we have in FIBA (in fact I have read they just copied the NBA rule, and they did). This leads me to my second question:
- Is this action by the offensive player legal under FIBA rules?