0

What does "Shoulder Before Wicket" mean in cricket?
Why was Sachin Tendulkar's dismissal against Australia considered "Shoulder Before Wicket" and was it the right decision?

2

What does "Shoulder Before Wicket" mean in cricket?

In terms of the Laws of Cricket, "shoulder before wicket" means nothing at all; it is not a term defined within the Laws.

Why was Sachin Tendulkar's dismissal against Australia considered "Shoulder Before Wicket"[?]

In terms of the official results, it wasn't. As the scorecard shows, Tendulakar was dismissed lbw. However, as Tendulkar was dismissed as a result of being hit on his upper arm while ducking a bouncer, the media have not unsurprisingly called this shoulder before wicket.

was it the right decision?

There are really two questions here:

  1. Can a batsman be dismissed "lbw" even if it is not their leg which the ball contacts? This one is a definite "yes"; quoting from Law 36.1:

The striker is out LBW if [...] the striker intercepts the ball, either full-pitch or after pitching, with any part of his/her person.

(my emphasis)*.

  1. Was the ball going to hit the wicket? No-one will ever really know the answer to this, but Daryll Harper, the umpire gave him out so he was out.

* Pedantically, you would need to refer to the 1980 Code of the Laws for the wording which applied when Tendulkar was dismissed. The older Codes used to be on the MCC site but I can't find them any more. However, the spirit of the wording hasn't changed since then even if the exact words may have done.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.