6

Will the batsman be dismissed as caught is each of the below scenario:

  • If the ball hits the arm pad of the batsman and is caught by the fielder.

  • If the ball hits the leg pad first, then hits the bat and is finally caught by the fielder.

  • If the ball hits the bat first, then hits the umpire and is finally caught by the fielder.

  • If the ball hits the bat first, then hits the batting partner and is finally caught by the fielder.

8

Good question!

Wikipedia defines caught as

A batsman is out caught if a fielder catches the ball fully within the field of play without it bouncing once the ball has touched the striker's bat or glove holding the bat. If a batsman could be given out caught or by any other method except bowled, 'caught' takes precedence.

Law 32 of the Laws of cricket has sub-clauses defining fair-catches, one of which is:

3(e). A fielder catches the ball after it has touched an umpire, another fielder or the other batsman.

So, to answer your various scenarios,

If the ball hits the arm pad of the batsman and is caught by the fielder.

No. this will not be a dismissal as it has neither touched the the batsman's bat nor the glove holding the bat.

If the ball hits the leg pad first, then hits the bat and is finally caught by the fielder.

Yes. This is considered a legal catch and the batsman is dismissed.

If the ball hits the bat first, then hits the umpire and is finally caught by the fielder.

Yes. Refer 3(e) above.

If the ball hits the bat first, then hits the batting partner and is finally caught by the fielder.

Yes. Refer 3(e) above.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.