Say there is a runner on first base. The batter hits it to the outfield and the baserunner advances to second base but over-runs the bag by making an aggressive turn. On the throw back, he gets tagged out trying to get back to second base. Is it ruled a force-out or, because it was the baserunner's fault, is it ruled single and the baserunner out at second base?

1 Answer 1


This would not be ruled a force out but would be scored as a put out much like if the outfielder had thrown it to third to tag an advancing runner there. I'd assume the batter would be given a single since it was hit to the outfield. If the official scorer viewed there could have reasonably been an out made at first, it would be ruled a fielder's choice.

  • Thanks; that's exactly what I imagined. I'm just not sure which rule number to cite in the MLB rulebook to verify this. Commented Apr 15, 2019 at 18:28
  • 1
    @AhaanS.Rungta 5.09(b)(6) is best since it specifies the force out is possible "...before he touches the next base". Once the base is touched, the force is off.
    – BowlOfRed
    Commented Apr 17, 2019 at 17:23

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.