-1

This question already has an answer here:

Bases loaded with 2 outs. Ball is hit to shortstop. SS tags runner attempting to advance to 3rd. Does the run count from 3rd base

marked as duplicate by user16112, Glorfindel, BowlOfRed, Nij, Ram Chandra Giri Apr 25 at 14:25

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • This is not a duplicate, just closely related. This question asks about what happens if a runner other than the batter is tagged out. As the answer to this question shows, this is not the same situation as tagging out the batter before he reaches first base. – kuhl Apr 25 at 17:36
  • a better duplicate would be sports.stackexchange.com/questions/5770/… – kuhl Apr 25 at 17:38
  • Actually, this question is a much more direct and definitive duplicate. I'm surprised this very scenario has been asked about (at least) three times on this site. – user16112 Apr 25 at 19:39
  • I've flipped the duplicate here, it now seems to me this does directly answer the question. – Philip Kendall Apr 28 at 19:10
0

The run does not count. Rule 4.09 of the MLB rule book states:

4.09 HOW A TEAM SCORES.

(a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning. EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.

The runner attempting to advance to third is forced out for the third out. As a result, the run is not scored.

  • However, because this was a tag play and not a force play, realize that in the unlikely -- but possible -- scenario where the runner from third has touched home plate before the tag is made the run would count. – jimmym715 Apr 24 at 14:28
  • 1
    @jimmym715 It was my understanding that a tag on a forced runner is a force out: sports.stackexchange.com/a/5771. Please advise. – user16112 Apr 24 at 15:06
  • 1
    @jimmym715 why do you describe this as a tag play? It appears to be the perfect example of a force play. Force is on until/unless the runner reaches the next base or a trailing runner is put out. – BowlOfRed Apr 24 at 16:37
  • @BowlOfRed because the OP specified a tag by the SS between 2nd and 3rd as opposed to a force out at 3rd – kuhl Apr 25 at 13:01
  • 1
    Tagging a runner doesn't mean that it's not a "force play". sports.stackexchange.com/questions/5770/… – BowlOfRed Apr 25 at 15:42

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.