At the 2019 Preakness Stakes, jockey John Velazquez fell off his horse Bodexpress at the start of the race, but Bodexpress continued to finish the race. Officially Bodexpress received a "DNF" (Did Not Finish) because the rule is that a horse cannot finish without a jockey.

But has there ever been a race in which a horse without a jockey was the first to cross the finish line?


Luigi Bruschelli has won 13 palios since 1996, one of which his horse finished first without him.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.