Do you have to putt out on every hole in a bogey competition even when you are over par on a hole ?

1 Answer 1


No, it is played on a hole-by-hole basis so once you have lost the hole you can pick up. The rules even encourage you to pick up when you are out of a hole.

From the R&A Rules 21.3b

Scoring in Par/Bogey

If the player’s score is higher than the fixed score, or no score is returned, the player loses the hole.

A player who does not hole out under the Rules for any reason loses the hole.

To help pace of play, players are encouraged to stop playing a hole when their score exceeds the fixed score (as they have lost the hole).

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.