A batted ball hits fair between home and third, bounces into the air and is caught while over foul territory in the air without ever touching foul territory and the player that caught it is in fair territory.

  • 3
    How does anything bounce in the air? Either it has hit the ground or hit another object or has hit nothing. – Nij Jun 2 '19 at 22:27
  • @Nij, whether the ball has hit the ground doesn't affect the fair/foul call. – BowlOfRed Jun 3 '19 at 20:59
  • I'm aware of the rule, but that statement doesn't clarify anything at all. How does something bounce in the air? – Nij Jun 4 '19 at 3:15
  • @Nij, I would read "in" as "into" there. ...bounces into the air... – BowlOfRed Jun 4 '19 at 5:37
  • That would be a completely different meaning, so it needs to be clarified. – Nij Jun 4 '19 at 7:03

For MLB rules (which I'm assuming are used unless otherwise stated), and the ball has not yet passed third base, the the only thing that matters is where the ball is first touched.

In the stated scenario, the ball is first touched (caught) in foul territory. The fact the defense is standing in fair territory, or that the ball last bounced in fair territory do not matter.

From MLB Rules 2019

A FOUL BALL is a batted ball that settles on foul territory between home and first base, or between home and third base, or that bounds past first or third base on or over foul territory, or that first falls on foul territory beyond first or third base, or that, while on or over foul territory, touches the person of an umpire or player, or any object foreign to the natural ground.

Having touched the player while over foul territory, this is a foul ball.

NCAA Softball rules reuse this statement as rule

A foul ball is a legally batted ball that ... Settles untouched on, or first touches/is touched by (1) a fielder or umpire, (2) either of their attached equipment or clothing, (3) accidentally by a base runner or her equipment/clothing, or (4) any object foreign to the natural playing surface on or over foul territory between home plate and first base or home plate and third base, even if the batted ball first rolled against the discarded bat (see Rule 11.12.1) or hit the ground in fair territory including the pitcher’s plate and home plate.

| improve this answer | |
  • Why mention MLB rules at all when the question is clearly about softball only? – Nij Jun 4 '19 at 3:12

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.