During the Women's World Cup 2019, the Nigerian goalkeeper defended a penalty kick in the 75th minute only for it to be retaken due to the fact that she did not have a foot on the goal line as the shot was taken. Due to this, France went on to retake the penalty, score a goal, and win the match.
Nevertheless, last year, during the Denmark versus Croatia game, in the second half of extra time, Denmark's goalkeeper Kasper Schmeichel defended a penalty against Luka Modrić. And yet, if we see this image it's pretty obvious that the goalkeeper does not have a single foot on the goal line.
Shouldn't the penalty be retaken?
Why did nothing happen here?
And why are the referees so adamant about this rule in the Women's World Cup?