During the recent Women's World Cup Quarter-Final, the French goalie performed a slide tackle inside the box against an attacker. She completely missed the ball and tripped the attacker. Why wasn't this a penalty? I'll try to attach a clip if I can find one.

I found a pay-walled (but readable) two-part article discussing goalie behavior that indicates this is a well-known problem in all of soccer.

  • France got knocked out in the quarter finals. What game are you talking about?
    – dly
    Commented Jul 2, 2019 at 19:48
  • Sorry, I meant quarter final, but I wad think about the game that was coming up.
    – Harvey
    Commented Jul 2, 2019 at 22:18

1 Answer 1


If the referee thought that the slide tackle was a foul it would have still been a penalty. However, referee's are often much more lenient towards goalie's fouling attackers. Goalie's have gotten red cards before if the commit a foul and have the same rules applied to them as field players. Perhaps the forward "flopped" or pretended to get hit causing the referee to not give a penalty.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.