If a pitch hits a batter in the strike zone, it is my understanding that it is a strike. What if a pitch nicks the strike zone say on the low and inside edge, but hits the batters ankle out of the strike zone?

1 Answer 1


Rule 5.05(2)b

If a batter is struck with a pitch while it is in the strike zone, it should be a strike. Otherwise, it is a ball or a HBP, depending on if the batter tried to get out the way.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.