2

Can an umpire overrule a player that called against themselves?

2

1 Answer 1

2

Caveat: When you say "called against themselves", I assume you mean the player advocates a decision that would result in putting himself at a disadvantage.

Technically, the umpire could overrule it...but in practice he never does because the player is usually doing it in the spirit of good sportsmanship. E.g., opponent hits a shot that gets called out but player says it was really in, so the umpire will give the opponent the point.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.