Is there any chance of bowling a trial ball before the start of the innings in international cricket history like street cricket or local cricket matches?

Answer if yes:

  • When did they stop this practice?
  • What is the reason for that?

If No:

  • What is the reason for not including this sportive thing in international cricket?
  • 1
    I don't think any justification needs to be given for it not being included. If one thinks that international cricket should include a trial ball, then one needs to make a case for it. I can't see how sportsmanship has anything to do with it. – Spinner Apr 24 '13 at 14:43

Trial ball is not permitted in international cricket. There is no law regarding this. If any trial ball would be allowed, there would be a law on that.

Also, there is a law regarding trial run up. (17.4)

4.Trial run up

A bowler is permitted to have a trial run up provided the umpire is satisfied that it will not contravene either of Laws 42.9 (Time wasting by the fielding side) or 42.13 (Fielder damaging the pitch).

So it is clear that a bowler can take a trial run up but can't bowl a trial ball (after taking a run up). Mostly opening bowlers take trial run up (maybe to adjust on the field).

| improve this answer | |

No, you cannot practice on the pitch see The Laws of Cricket. The reason is the state of the pitch, and any wear on it, is an important part of how a game of cricket unfolds. Practicing on the pitch would alter its state and therefore could be used as a tactic in some way, so is not permitted.

| improve this answer | |
  • good answer, but qn is not about practice, it's about trial ball which is bowled in our street cricket matches – Azik Abdullah Feb 20 '13 at 16:23
  • Whether you call it practice and warm up or a 'trial ball' the rules are very clear that it is not permitted on the pitch for the reasons given. International cricketers certainly warm up before the game, generally on the outfield, you're just not allowed to do so on the match pitch itself. – Bogdanovist Feb 20 '13 at 22:33
  • Sorry, first sentence should read "Whether you call it practice OR warm up..". Too old to edit. – Bogdanovist Feb 21 '13 at 2:21
  • ur answer is, in international cricket history trial balls were not bowled in any match is it? – Azik Abdullah Feb 21 '13 at 6:06
  • in ur answer, Practicing on the pitch would alter its state and therefore could be used as a tactic in some way, so is not permitted. Iam not asking about practicing in the pitch,it's abt just bowl a single ball to the opening batsman by the opening bowler which is not counted in the match. did u get me? – Azik Abdullah Feb 21 '13 at 6:10

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.