If a bowler takes wicket in the last ball of an over and takes other two wickets in the first two balls of the next over then it is considered as Hat-trick.

But what if a bowler takes last two wickets in one match and in the next match he takes a wicket in the first ball of his very first over. Will it considered as a Hat-trick?

Similar (and related) question: What if a bowler takes last two wickets in first innings of a test match and in the second innings (of the same test match) he takes a wicket in the first ball of his very first over. Will it considered as a Hat-trick?


4 Answers 4


As per Wikipedia's definition of Hat-Trick

a bowler taking a wicket off each of three consecutive deliveries that he bowls in a single match (whether in the same over or split up in two consecutive overs, or two overs in two different spells, or even spread across two innings of a test match or first-class cricket game).

So from the definition we can say that a Hat-Trick must be occur within a single match. It can not be spread across two matches. But it can, of course, be spread across the two innings of a double-innings match, such as a Test match.


From Wikipedia

A hat-trick occurs in cricket when a bowler dismisses three batsmen with consecutive deliveries. The deliveries may be interrupted by an over bowled by another bowler from the other end of the pitch or the other team's innings, but must be three consecutive deliveries by the individual bowler. Only wickets attributed to the bowler count towards a hat-trick; run outs do not count.

Here one thing we have to remind is that, there is no official definition or law for Hat-Tricks. There are no official wordings or like that as how a Hat-Trick is achieved. It is more commonly a term used by media and others who see this an individual achievement by a player. So basically it is to be left with each person's perspective as to which one is a Hat-Trick or which one is not.

Like asked in this question one can argue over a Hat-Trick with a wide ball(or no-ball) in between.

Anyway in the same link I provided, there are some peculiar Hat-Tricks explained, like the one you asked.

Some hat-tricks are particularly extraordinary. On 2 December 1988, Merv Hughes, playing for Australia, dismissing Curtly Ambrose with the last ball of his penultimate over and Patrick Patterson with the first ball of his next over, wrapping up the West Indies first innings. When Hughes returned to bowl in the West Indies second innings, he trapped Gordon Greenidge lbw with his first ball, completing a hat-trick over two different innings and becoming the only player in Test cricket history to achieve the three wickets of a hat-trick in three different overs.

So you can say it is a Hat-Trick spread over two innings/match or you dont agree at all. As I said above it is each person's perspective.

  • 1
    We can say Hat-trick can be spread over two innings but what about two matches? the given example is for innings only. I have doubt about two matches.
    – Himanshu
    Feb 27, 2013 at 11:21
  • 1
    The given example is not based on any official rule or record. It is simply put in a general perspective. You can argue that it is not a Hat-Trick.
    – Renjith
    Feb 27, 2013 at 11:27
  • 2
    IMO it doesn't matter if it is in the same over, innings, match or series. As long as 3 wickets come off 3 balls, it is a hat-trick. But like @RKN mentioned, there is no official rule and it is one's prerogative to interpret the rule as one deems fit. Feb 27, 2013 at 11:34
  • 1
    @Orangecrush - As per this answer Hat-trick must be completed within a given match.
    – Himanshu
    Feb 28, 2013 at 6:42
  • @Sancho - I already told that the given definition is unclear not wrong. See my answer.
    – Himanshu
    Feb 28, 2013 at 9:04

Its a hat trick for the match not matches. What next someone on 99 not out will get a single next game and claim a 100? Similarly, a hat trick doesn't count for multiple matches.


If a bowler takes last two wickets in one match and in the next match he takes a wicket in the first ball of his very first over, it will not be considered as a Hat-trick.

From cricket.com.au article "Three in three balls - but no hat-trick":

Western Australia quick Joel Paris has pulled off a hat-trick that wasn't, taking three wickets in three consecutive balls across two matches.

The left-armer, continued his bright recent form by taking a wicket with his first ball in WA's Sheffield Shield match against South Australia at the WACA Ground on Sunday, which was also the first delivery of the Redbacks innings.

Seven days earlier, Paris had steered the Warriors to a thrilling win over Queensland with 4-78 on the final day of their Shield clash in Perth, including two wickets from the final two balls of the match to secure the 24-run win.

The wicket of Weatherald on Sunday made it three wickets in three balls for Paris, spread over a week, but it isn't recorded as a hat-trick as the feat was achieved over two matches.

From Western Australia's tweet:

we realise Paris' 1st ball wicket doesn't constitute a hat-trick as you can't have a HT across 2 games! Just a bit of fun!

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.