1

After receiving the service the ball hits the net. It is legal to continue as long as you are within the 3 hits limit.

But can the same player continue after hitting the net? Player 1 hits the net, the ball bounces, and then the same Player 1 continues by passing to another team member?

1

No, this is not allowed. The official rules say:

9.1.1 CONSECUTIVE CONTACTS

A player may not hit the ball two times consecutively (except Rules 9.2.3, 14.2 and 14.4.2).

Let's have a look at these exceptions:

9.2.3 The ball may touch various parts of the body, provided that the contacts take place simultaneously.

This situation is not simultaneous, so this exception doesn't apply.

14.2 BLOCK CONTACT

Consecutive (quick and continuous) contacts with the ball may occur by one or more blockers, provided that the contacts are made during one action.

14.4.2 The first hit after the block may be executed by any player, including the one who has touched the ball during the block

Since this isn't about blocking, these exceptions don't apply either.

|improve this answer|||||

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.