If I am shooting the eight-ball for the game, hit the eight-ball, but sink the opponent's ball and the eight-ball does not go down, what happens?

1 Answer 1


It is your opponent's turn.

You were on the 8 and designated the pocket. With the cue ball, you struck your ball first, the 8 ball, which is the 1st requirement for a legal hit. A ball - as in any ball - was pocketed, or hit a rail, which meets the 2nd and final requirement for a legal hit. There was no foul, nor did you pocket your ball. Therefore, your turn is over.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.