I am struggling to understand something about the advantage rule in football. What should happen when there is given advantage by the ref and after that there is a handball (talking about Ajax vs Chelsea). Should the ref give the first foul or the handball after the given advantage? What I have read so far, nothing is mentioned on that matter


The referee could going back but only after a shortest time after foul is committed. It's not an official rule. It's left to the discretion of the referee


When advantage is played, there is no "going back" to the first offence.

If a subsequent offence occurs, either that second offence is penalised as appropriate or it is again met with advantage.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.