The question is about futsal.

Consider following sutuation

  1. Goalkeeper holds the ball in his hands after opposing team's attack, the ball has not left the field, so that's not a goal clearance
  2. Goalkeeper throws up the ball a little bit and then kicks it
  3. The ball hits the post of opposing team's goal and goes in, touching neither field or any other players

Will it count?

And if we change the (1) to be a goal clearance, will it still count, or there will be an indirect free kick since goalkeeper need to throw the ball?


Ball in Play
Yes - The goalkeeper may score a goal with his feet from directly inside the goalkeeper’s penalty area when holding a ball in play.

Law 10 The Method of Scoring
A goal is disallowed if the goalkeeper of the attacking team throws or hits the ball intentionally with his hand or arm from inside his own penalty area and is the last player to touch or play the ball. (Page 37)

Goal Clearance
No - A goal may not be scored directly from a goal clearance.

Law 16 The Goal Clearance
A goal may not be scored directly from a goal clearance. (Page 57)

Infringements and sanctions

If the goalkeeper takes the goal clearance with his foot, the referees will issue a warning and order him to take it with his hand, but the four-second count continues from where it was stopped once the goalkeeper is ready to retake it. (Page 152)

If the ball is not thrown directly out of the penalty area from a goal clearance:
• the clearance is retaken, but the four-second count is not reset and continues once the goalkeeper is ready to retake it. (Page 57)

If the goal clearance is not taken within four seconds:
• an indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team, to be taken from the penalty area line at the place nearest to where the infringement occurred. (Page 58)

FIFA - FUTSAL Laws of the Game 2014/15

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.