On Sunday, in Liverpool vs United, on 93rd minute Mata was given offside, both the refs had given offside (they showed offside signs and ref whistles too). Alisson caught the ball and took a drop-kick (kicking the ball through his hands) which assisted Salah and resulted in the goal.

As per my knowledge, an INDIRECT FREEKICK is awarded for an offside. So how did Alisson take it as drop-kick and even after whistling and showing offside sign, how was he allowed to take it? (Ref did not show advantage).

enter image description here

So my question is, is drop-kick allowed for an offside if it is in the box?

  • Possibly related: sports.stackexchange.com/q/24550/15589
    – F1Krazy
    Jan 23, 2020 at 10:24
  • @F1Krazy I did not talk about Salah being offside. He wasn't. Salah's offside is not in the question. Jan 23, 2020 at 10:26
  • That's why I said "related" and not "duplicate". It's about the same goal and claims the ball was in open play at the time. Maybe that question was wrong though.
    – F1Krazy
    Jan 23, 2020 at 10:41
  • Who decides if the ball is in open play or not? The keeper caught it and it's not about the goal here. it's about how the offside freekick was taken. Jan 23, 2020 at 10:43
  • do you have a video source on whether the whistle was blown? If it was not, the goal is pefectly fine. Even if there was offside, the referee could have decided to let the game continue as possession turned over anyway.
    – E. Sommer
    Jan 23, 2020 at 11:55

1 Answer 1


The whistle was not blown, at all.

Play was never stopped.

No player was penalised for offside.

There was never a free kick.

Alisson played the ball legally to Salah in the same way he and every other goalkeeper does regularly.


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.