1

In a recent Bruins/Blackhawk game a Bruins goal was waived off because a Bruins Player knocked the puck down with his hand. If you watch the replay carefully you can see the puck was going to go wide until the goalie played the puck with his stick and knocked it into his own goal. Was that the right call or should it have been a goal since the goalie actually put it in the goal?

New contributor
Brent Whitney is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering. Check out our Code of Conduct.
  • 1
    Hi @BrentWhitney, welcome to Sports.SE - could you kindly edit your question title to something more specific? This will help any other people with the same / similar question to yours find this one and, hopefully, a useful answer - "NHL Rule Question" is a bit ambiguous :) – ImClarky Feb 14 at 13:12
1

There's a specific rule for exactly this situation. It was the correct decision The goal should be, and was, disallowed.

67.6 Disallowed Goal - A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who bats or directs the puck with his hand into the net. A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who bats or directs the puck and it is deflected into the net off any player, goalkeeper or official. When the puck enters the net on a clear deflection off a glove, the goal shall be allowed.

Your Answer

Brent Whitney is a new contributor. Be nice, and check out our Code of Conduct.

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.