1

...more specifically, when a puck carrier dumps it in the zone and chases, this regards when contact is made by the defenseman covering him.

It seems to be a judgement call by the referee whether to allow the check, or to call interference because the defender did not allow the puck dumper to pass him.

Is it a matter of one-hit and it's legal? Meaning, if the defender lingers and stays with the dumper, then it get called?

3

Generally, if the player has possession of the puck, they are eligible to be legally checked. Officials will give a small amount of leeway if the player has just passed or shot the puck. They will also allow the check if the puck is nearby and the player is trying to play it. Hence, on calls for interference, you will hear the announcers talk about how close or not the puck is.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.