Looking for some clarification on this situation that came up today:
There is one out and a runner on first base (R1). The batter hits a fly ball in the infield. The first baseman (1st) makes an attempt to catch the ball and it drops out of his glove. 1st picks the ball up and tags the batter/runner out as he runs up the first base line (before he touches first base). The batter/runner was called out, R1 stayed on first and we continued play with two outs now.
Is this the correct call? There was a lot of discussion as to whether R1 is still forced to second base on this play (allowing someone to tag him for a double play) or can R1 stay put on first base (as was allowed in our case)?
I know rule 7.03 b states :
If a runner is forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner and two runners are touching a base to which the following runner is forced, the following runner is entitled to the base and the preceding runner shall be out when tagged or when a fielder possesses the ball and touches the base to which such preceding runner is forced.
Our situation is slightly different as the batter/runner never made it to first base before being tagged out.
Was the correct call made?