I've seen the referee award advantage (and the announcer will indicate as much). I get the sense that advantage only lasts for the next couple of touches. I've seen possession get turned over and a free kick not awarded afterward.

So, how long does advantage last after awarded?

1 Answer 1


This is covered in Law 5 "The Referee", Section 3 "Powers and Duties":

[The referee] allows play to continue when an offence occurs and the non-offending team will benefit from the advantage, and penalises the offence if the anticipated advantage does not ensue at that time or within a few seconds

i.e. either the offence has to be penalised within a few seconds, or play is allowed to continue; the referee cannot "go back" more than those few seconds.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge that you have read and understand our privacy policy and code of conduct.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.