During a field goal, if the ball hits the ground and bounces through the uprights and above the crossbar, is it still good despite hitting the ground first?

1 Answer 1


No. Rule 11 Section 4 Article 1 states:

Article 1 Successful Field Goal. A field goal is scored when all of the following conditions are met:

(b) After the ball is kicked, it must not touch the ground or any player of the offensive team before it passes through the goal.


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.