Can a football referee show a yellow card or a direct red card for an offense happened ten minutes ago, simply because they realise that they gave an incorrect decision for not showing the card for the offense?

  • 1
    I note that you have already asked a highly similar question for just the red card. The addition of the error is new, but does not change the answer for the red card. I suggest focusing on only the yellow card here, as they do have different answers.
    – Nij
    Jan 16, 2021 at 20:21
  • @Nij it does. If play has resumed you can not change a previous call, unless VAR interferes.
    – dly
    Jan 16, 2021 at 21:19
  • @Gakov99 I'm not entirely sure what you want to know. Has the offence 10 min prior resulted in a free kick or did the referee nothing at all? Or did they not see it? Please be more precise.
    – dly
    Jan 16, 2021 at 21:23
  • I think you need to read my answer on that question, then. It being an error does not change the answer - if play has resumed, except in one specific circumstance, the red card cannot be shown for that offence later.
    – Nij
    Jan 16, 2021 at 21:48
  • Assume that the offence did not result in a free kick.
    – user20761
    Jan 17, 2021 at 8:01

2 Answers 2


From the 2020/21 Laws of the Game:

a disciplinary sanction may only be issued after play has restarted if another match official had identified and attempted to communicate the offence to the referee before play restarted; the restart associated with the sanction does not apply.

The amount of time elapsing since the offense does not change whether a disciplinary sanction (yellow or red card) can be given for it.


Yes, there is VAR (video assistant referee) in certain leagues. The incident would then get reviewed and the referee could show a yellow card or a red card to the player. In certain cases, he could also remove a yellow card from a player.

  • 1
    Yes with VAR you can get carded for an incident from a few minutes ago. But it's hard to imagine for one from 10 minutes ago
    – alamoot
    Jan 16, 2021 at 19:58
  • Welcome to Sports Stack Exchange. As discussed in the answer to Gakov99's other question, there is a lot of nuance to whether any card can be given after this much time, especially for the red card. Can you refer to the laws of the game that support your answer, and handle the nuance involved?
    – Nij
    Jan 16, 2021 at 20:25

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.