-2
  • Home team player has been fouled inside his/her opponents’ penalty area.
  • The referee says play on.
  • Home team loses the ball and away team starts a counter attack.
  • Away team loses the ball and home team regains possession.
  • This cycle goes on once more.

If the play did not stop during this period, can VAR still intervene for a penalty call review?

1

The hypothetical situation in question will never occur.

Presuming a review is permitted (the incident is reviewable, and is a clear and obvious error), if the video assistant referee was going to intervene, it would have been at the time possession moved into a neutral area - as soon as the Away team obtained possession and before they "start a counter attack".

VAR Protocol, section 4 Procedures, subsection Review,

If play has not already stopped, the referee stops play when the ball is next in a neutral zone/situation (usually when neither team is in an attacking move) and shows the 'TV signal'

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy