0

Can a wicket keeper move after bowl reach to him for stumping? Will it be a fair delivery?

2
  • 1
    What do you mean by the "bowl reach to him"? All the fielders can move, that is what they are there for. – Chenmunka Feb 4 at 11:26
  • After or before? After, yes. Why not? – Severus Snape Feb 7 at 18:30
2

I think the rules relevant to your question are under 27.3 and 27.4 of the MCC rules here.

What I take from those is that:

  • the wicketkeeper must remain behind the stumps until the ball strikes the striker or bat, passes the stumps, or the striker attempts to run. If this rule is broken, a no ball is called.
  • in the time between a ball being bowled, and any of those 3 events occuring, the wicketkeeper cannot significantly alter their position. If they do, a dead ball is called. Exemptions to this rule are where the wicketkeeper is:
    • taking a few steps forwards to respond to a slower ball, providing this does not bring them within reach of the wickets
    • responding to lateral movement of the ball
    • responding an action from the striker suggesting the shot they will play

I think the first exemption there is most relevant to your question. If a wicketkeeper was standing back, and then moves up to the stumps as the ball is bowled to effect a stumping - I believe the umpire should call a dead ball. Otherwise, if umpire considers the keepers movement to be legitimate, the stumping should stand.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.