0

In hitting a potential winning run in a tied cricket match my brother's bat slipped out of his hand and over the square leg umpire's head. He did not realise that a bat is not needed to complete a run, so he ran and collected it then headed for the bowler's crease, which allowed time for him to be run out.

If he had run parallel to the pitch and reached a point past an imaginary extension of the popping crease at the bowler's end, would the run of counted, and/or would he have been out?

1

Yes. Quoting from Law 7 The Creases:

The popping crease [...] shall be considered to be unlimited in length.

so you can complete the run anywhere on the playing surface.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.