6

Due to Ronnie O'Sullivan's absence in almost all snooker tournaments through the 2012-2013 season, he dropped out the top 16 for the next season. But since he won the 2013 World Championship, will he be given permission to enter the top 16 for the 2013-2014 season?

  • I wonder why this was downvoted – MobileCushion May 7 '13 at 11:51
  • Welcome to Sports SE! At first glance, my guess at why this was downvoted was because your question was speculating on the return of O'Sullivan in the top 16 next season. However, reading it again, it looks like you are asking if a player is able enter the top 16 for next season if he won the world championship...which is more of a rules-related question and on-topic. – user527 May 7 '13 at 13:11
  • OK, that's great! :D – MobileCushion May 7 '13 at 13:50
  • 1
    +1. Not sure why that close vote is there. – iDev May 7 '13 at 19:04
3

No, he will not be a in the "Top 16 list", however if he decides to take place in any tournament on the World Snooker Tour he would not need to play a qualifikation.

In 2005 Shaun Murphy won the World Championship and he qualified automatically for every tournament in the next season as the number two seed (and number one seed for the 2006 World Championship)

  • It's worth noting that Ian McCulloch, the actual Nr. 16, effectively lost this ranking and had to play another qualifer round instead for that year. – Kilian Foth Jan 26 '16 at 11:31

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.