I know that Lionel Messi and Enzo Francescoli have been chosen the best player of the Copa América twice. It happened in 2021, 2015, 1995 and 1983 respectively. Are there other soccer players who have been chosen the best player of the Copa América more than once?

1 Answer 1


Technically, the tournament was renamed Copa America in 1975. It isn't really hard to list all the best players:

If you want to count the best players of the South American Championship (before 1975), then the full list of them is available on the RSSSF website. According to this list two other players won the award twice: José Nasazzi (Uruguay, 1923, 1935) and Manuel Seoane (Argentina, 1925, 1927).

  • Not sure, supposedly Pelé was the best player of the 1959 Copa América.
    – Pablo
    Sep 1, 2021 at 17:07
  • @Pablo Hmm, interesting. It seems I'll need to dig deeper. At least, this list is a start. :) Sep 1, 2021 at 17:09
  • that's why I upvoted
    – Pablo
    Sep 1, 2021 at 17:09
  • @Pablo I've updated my answer with the link to a full list of best players, including South American Championship. Sep 1, 2021 at 17:21

This site is temporarily in read-only mode and not accepting new answers.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .