0

In FIBA rule,

• A player who catches the ball while he is progressing, or upon completion of a dribble, may take two steps in coming to a stop, passing or shooting the ball: << [룰 2]

I want to ask whether starting a dribble is legal.

a player catches the ball while his both feet is in the air, he land with One foot(A) and then land with his other foot(B) without moving his first foot(A). So He set both feet on the ground.

then I see

▬ If, after receiving the ball, a player shall release the ball to start his dribble before his second step

in this case, I think B is his Second step because

▬ The second step occurs after the first step when the other foot touches the floor or both feet touch the floor simultaneously

but, all video about Legal starting dribble, they say

▬ To start a dribble, the pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released from the hand(s).

is it right? he catches the ball while he is progressing. So, he Should release the ball to start his dribble before his second step.

I can't understand.

if he catch a ball while his right foot touches the floor, then that foot is zero step.

left right, o mean touch the floor. x mean foot in air

then, o x (catch the ball So gather) > x x(jump) > x o(Pivot foot) > o o

can he dribble and then he pivot?

New contributor
CHO-CO-CONE is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering. Check out our Code of Conduct.
1
  • I think this needs come clarification, because it's not really obvious to me exactly what you're going after... but I don't believe landing after jumping is considered taking two steps if you didn't possess the ball when you left your feet.
    – Joe
    Sep 12 at 21:08

Your Answer

CHO-CO-CONE is a new contributor. Be nice, and check out our Code of Conduct.

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.